Our History

Phi Delta Theta, SC Gamma chapter was founded at Clemson University on March 7, 1970. Clemson University’s chapter of Phi Delta Theta was previously known as Delta Phi Kappa, a local social fraternity that was founded around 1960. In 1969, national fraternities were allowed to visit Clemson’s campus and choose among the local fraternities to found a new chapter.

Through hard work and dedication, the members of Delta Phi Kappa were chosen to become Phi Delta Theta, SC Gamma chapter. A.G. Edwards was named the first president of the new Phi Delt chapter and David Tibbs was given bond #1 for his work as Delta Phi Kappa president in securing the Phi Delt charter.

The Chapter Today

The current chapter consists of roughly 100 active brothers, six of whom live in our chapter house. Many of the other brothers remain close to one another living together in either on or off campus housing. A list of all current brothers can be found here.


The Chapter House

Phi Delta Theta, SC Gamma boasts a 6 bedroom house on 15 acres of land in scenic Seneca, SC that is affectionately referred to as “The Lodge.”